The Lost Knight by Candy Atkins | Review

Disclaimer: I was sent this book in eBook format by YA Bound Book tours in exchange for an honest review. It was released on the 20th of May 2016, by Monster Publishing and is the first in a series.

30264201

Goodreads Summary:

How am I supposed to save the world when I’m not strong, not brave, not smart, and not particularly good at most things? I ran away from home the day after my thirteenth birthday when Auntie and her weird friend attacked me. Now I’m on the run with the Grim Reaper and a scary soldier. And I’m no longer on Earth. They were expecting me to be a Knight. The savior that’s supposed to stop a war and prevent the invasion to Earth. But I’m not. They grabbed the wrong girl. I just don’t know how to tell them.

The Lost Knight Volume 1 by Candy Atkins, is great for fans of Harry Potter and Magnus Chase (I also believe Percy Jackson fans will enjoy this book).

Praise For The Lost Knight.

I read an ebook copy of this book and absolutely loved it and everything about it. I was able to relate to Agatha, despite me being almost 5 years older than her, as she was.

The length of the chapters were so perfect! They were long enough to be considered chapters but short enough to make me feel like I was breezing through the book.

I had so much fun reading this book, that I gave it a ★★★★☆ (4/5 stars) on Goodreads, and I would totally recommend it to anyone who wants a fun, dramaless, fantasy novel, where you can discover new and amazing world.

Spoilery Review!

This book is classified on Goodreads as Young adult Fantasy. But while reading it I thought how un-YA-like this book is with all its crazy coloured horses and talking trees as well as unicorns and caves that makes your thoughts come alive, as well as a thirteen-year-old protagonist; this book seemed more of a Middle-Grade Fantasy novel than a Young Adult Fantasy. It was quite ridiculous, but they definitely got the Fantasy right!

Let’s just talk about the fantasy aspect of this book. Wow! I loved the amount of creativity and imagination put into this book, it honestly made me think that Agatha had dreamt all of this up to escape her life as an orphan in a horrible home, in turn demonising her foster parents and feeding her ego and desire to be loved and adored; because that amount of creativity cannot surely be real? Well it is, and Agatha can’t believe it either.

This book is told from the main character, Agatha. As an artist, Agatha’s  point of view is very important as it gives a detailed and more descriptive description of an already colourful, crazily unimaginable world. The artist in Agatha comes out when she uses adjectives such as “lapis-blue” – a description that I have had no experience with before –  seeing things through Agatha’s eyes brings forth these new descriptive words as she describes things with different words as she is exposed to colour everyday from her hobby which ties into the colourful world of Ashra.

My favourite fantasy concept of the whole book was the “Lattus Birds”. They’re birds that are painted onto the ceiling of Agatha’s room in the Elf village, and fly around the painting, making noise like real birds in the sky, and only become still when it is time for Agatha to sleep; making noise again when she is to wake up. I thought this was so beautiful and original, I wish this was in my room.

I am a bit of a ‘culture’ nut when it comes to world building in books. Basically; I want to know the whole history of a place, its origins, its beliefs, how many rooms are in each house, what is the traditional breakfast cereal, etc. So when Atkins included that the [Elf] culture influenced the human Asian cultures.” I went crazy (and probably read faster, if that’s even possible). She also touched on the rivalry between the Fairies of Manhatta and the Elfs in the form of Agatha describing a series of images.

As I mentioned earlier, this book did seem a bit too middle-grade-ish for me and made me think of how Tarah Mafi’s book Furthermore was classified as Middle-Grade when it was intended for a Young-Adult audience. At times, because of this, I felt that the book couldn’t get any more ridiculous; to quote Agatha “I give up. I’ve seen a lot of weird things… this was just another oddity.” Although we gotta give her credit, I would’ve gone insane and probably broken down from all the craziness surrounding me. So kudos to you Agatha.

And then came the end of the book… No. Again in the words of our artistic female protagonist, “What am I suppose to do now?” I want the second book!!! I have had nothing but praise for this book and it shouldn’t end, especially like this. Please please give me the second book. I cannot wait to know what adventures lie ahead for our strong lady.

Will Agatha find the key and save Ashra?

I sure hope so!

grabbutton_zpsa1748017

b

This post was made possible by YA Bound Book Tours who provided me with the eBook in exchange for an honest review. I would not have been able to have experienced this book without the wonderful people behind this blog. Thank you xx

l

l

Thank You so much for reading and I hope to see you all again Saturday 🙂

BREE XOXO


I’m a Book Depository Affiliate! Get Free Shipping on ALL BOOKS Everywhere!


© Jasper+Spice 2015. All Rights Reserved. Please do not use without permission. All graphics were sourced from Goodreads. Some photos were sourced from my Instagram @jasperandspice.

Advertisements

One thought on “The Lost Knight by Candy Atkins | Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s