What Book Do I Read Next?

Hello Bookaholics!

It is nearing finals time, which that means ultimate procrastination and because of this I am currently coming out of my dreaded book slump.

Ever since I started uni three months ago I have only started two books; Nevernight by Jay Kristoff, which I am putting on hold; and Somewhere in the Shallow Sea by Dennis Macaraeg which I am so close to finishing. Because of this, I need help choosing my next read.
I have a ton of books that have been sent to me over the past few months that I am yet to read, but I really can’t chose which ones to read first! Below are the books and their release dates, please leave a comment below with the title of which book you would like me to read and review next.

Continue reading “What Book Do I Read Next?”

To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin | Spoiler-Free Review

I was sent this book from Allen & Unwin in exchange for an honest review. It was published it on the 23rd of November 2016.

Hey Ho Bookaholics!

To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin.jpg

Goodreads Summary:

Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young Scottish widow and a French engineer who, despite constraints of class and wealth, fall in love.

In February 1887, Caitriona Wallace and Émile Nouguier meet in a hot air balloon, floating high above Paris, France–a moment of pure possibility. But back on firm ground, their vastly different social strata become clear. Cait is a widow who because of her precarious financial situation is forced to chaperone two wealthy Scottish charges. Émile is expected to take on the bourgeois stability of his family’s business and choose a suitable wife. As the Eiffel Tower rises, a marvel of steel and air and light, the subject of extreme controversy and a symbol of the future, Cait and Émile must decide what their love is worth.

Seamlessly weaving historical detail and vivid invention, Beatrice Colin evokes the revolutionary time in which Cait and Émile live–one of corsets and secret trysts, duels and Bohemian independence, strict tradition and Impressionist experimentation. To Capture What We Cannot Keep, stylish, provocative, and shimmering, raises probing questions about a woman’s place in that world, the overarching reach of class distinctions, and the sacrifices love requires of us all.

Continue reading “To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin | Spoiler-Free Review”

The Fifth Avenue Artists Society by Joy Callaway | Spoiler-Free Review

I was sent this book in November from Allen & Unwin in exchange for an honest review. It was published on the 23rd of November.

Hey Ho Bookaholics!

I am back Bookaholics, and there is no better way to make a comeback than to upload a review on one of my favourite books of all time! These are the hardest reviews to write because I want to just ramble on and on about all the good bits that I loved so so much, but I can’t; because I want you all to read it and I don’t want to spoil the book for any of you!

Just so you know, I received this book – and many others – from Allen & Unwin Publishers and the books I have been receiving them have been exceptional. The storylines becoming increasingly more captivating with every book I read, and it’s becoming harder and harder to chose which book I want to call my favourite (so far it’s between this one and The Edge Of Everything).

I don’t believe I have anything else to say other than please have an open mind while reading my review and do not let the blurb or my review deter you from reading this book as your opinion is the only one that matters. Also the writing is the most beautiful thing I have ever read!

the-fifth-avenue-artists-society-book-coverGoodreads Summary:

‘The creative sisterhood of Little Women, the social scandal of Edith Wharton and the courtship mishaps of Jane Austen . . . The Fifth Avenue Artists Society is a delightful, and at times touching, tale of Gilded Age society and creative ambition with an inspiring heroine.’ New York Daily News

The Bronx, 1891. Virginia Loftin, the boldest of four artistic sisters in a family living in genteel poverty, knows what she wants most: to become a celebrated novelist despite her gender, and to marry Charlie, the boy next door and her first love.

When Charlie instead proposes to a woman from a wealthy family, Ginny is devastated; shutting out her family, she holes up in her room and turns their story into fiction, obsessively rewriting a better ending. Though she works with newfound intensity, literary success eludes her-until she attends an elite salon hosted at her brother’s friend John Hopper’s Fifth Avenue mansion. Among painters, musicians, actors, and writers, Ginny returns to herself, even blooming under the handsome, enigmatic John’s increasingly romantic attentions.

But just as she and her siblings have become swept up in the society, Charlie throws himself back into her path, and Ginny learns that the salon’s bright lights may be obscuring some dark shadows. Torn between two worlds that aren’t quite as she’d imagined them, Ginny will realise how high the stakes are for her family, her writing, and her chance at love.

Continue reading “The Fifth Avenue Artists Society by Joy Callaway | Spoiler-Free Review”

The Edge Of Everything by Jeff Giles | Non-Spoiler Review

I was sent a copy of The Edge Of Everything by Jeff Giles from Bloomsbury in December 2016, in exchange for an honest review prior to the release date.

Hey Ho Bookaholics!

Wow okay so I’m back from a crazy long break at not posting due to I work and planning/ packing for my holiday (which I am currently enjoying), but because it is Review Monday and I have missed two Review Monday’s in a row (shame on me) I am bringing to you a very special review.

This is a book that has absolutely captured – and kept a part of – my heart when I read it in the closing weeks of 2016. If you saw my Summer TBR post, you will know that I included it in my December TBR which I had no hope in finishing, though this was one of two novels I’d actually read, out of the total seven books I planned to read in the month.

the-edge-of-everything-book-coverGoodreads Summary:

It’s been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who’s still reeling from her father’s shockingly sudden death in a caving accident and her neighbors’ mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods–only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.

X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. Forbidden to reveal himself to anyone other than his victims, X casts aside the Lowlands’ rules for Zoe. As X and Zoe learn more about their different worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future. But escaping the Lowlands and the ties that bind X might mean the ultimate sacrifice for both of them.

Continue reading “The Edge Of Everything by Jeff Giles | Non-Spoiler Review”

Initiate by Laura L. Fox | Spoiler-Free ARC Review

Hey Ho Bookaholics!

I have another review! Initiate is the second ARC I have read, received and reviewed on this blog. I was asked to review this book by the wonderful team at OfTomes Publishing Company and I would never have been able to read this book if the amazing Laura. L. Fox hadn’t written it, so I must thank her also.

.

DISCLAIMER: I was sent this book in ebook format from OfTomes in exchange for an honest review. This book is to be released on November 15th 2016 and is the first book in a series.

28435908

Goodreads Review

The only home Riga Garrison has ever known is the Tunnel, a subterranean research facility buried deep beneath Antarctica’s ice and snow.

Yet, while a safe haven for the last outpost of humanity governed by the Initiate, it is also home to a secret so dark that they will risk anything to protect it.

Surrounded by deceit and faced with exile to a frozen wasteland, Riga must defy not only the Initiate’s top biologists and loyalists but also her own mother, in an attempt to unearth the truth.

Buy The Book!                                        ★★★★★ (5/5 stars)

. Continue reading “Initiate by Laura L. Fox | Spoiler-Free ARC Review”

The Lost Knight by Candy Atkins | Review

Disclaimer: I was sent this book in eBook format by YA Bound Book tours in exchange for an honest review. It was released on the 20th of May 2016, by Monster Publishing and is the first in a series.

30264201

Goodreads Summary:

How am I supposed to save the world when I’m not strong, not brave, not smart, and not particularly good at most things? I ran away from home the day after my thirteenth birthday when Auntie and her weird friend attacked me. Now I’m on the run with the Grim Reaper and a scary soldier. And I’m no longer on Earth. They were expecting me to be a Knight. The savior that’s supposed to stop a war and prevent the invasion to Earth. But I’m not. They grabbed the wrong girl. I just don’t know how to tell them.

The Lost Knight Volume 1 by Candy Atkins, is great for fans of Harry Potter and Magnus Chase (I also believe Percy Jackson fans will enjoy this book).

Praise For The Lost Knight.

I read an ebook copy of this book and absolutely loved it and everything about it. I was able to relate to Agatha, despite me being almost 5 years older than her, as she was.

The length of the chapters were so perfect! They were long enough to be considered chapters but short enough to make me feel like I was breezing through the book.

I had so much fun reading this book, that I gave it a ★★★★☆ (4/5 stars) on Goodreads, and I would totally recommend it to anyone who wants a fun, dramaless, fantasy novel, where you can discover new and amazing world.

Continue reading “The Lost Knight by Candy Atkins | Review”