A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Mass | Spoilery Review

Hey Ho Bookaholics!

Today I bring to you a review that has been 30 days in the making because that’s how long it took me to read this damned long ass book!

A court of mist and fury book cover.jpgGoodreads Summary:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Book Depository / QBD The Bookshop

Review

Let me start by saying that I read this novel in small bits over 30 days, so it is hard for me to remember everything about what happened in it, although I do remember the most interesting parts, which were later on in the novel anyways so these are my thoughts.

I went into this novel believing it is the best in the series

★ Rating ★

★★★★★

.

Stay Happy, Healthy, and have a Lovely Week!!

.

Thank You so much for reading and I hope to see you all back here for Storytime Wednesday 🙂

BREE XOXO


I’m a Book Depository Affiliate! Get Free Shipping on ALL BOOKS Everywhere!


© Jasper+Spice 2017. All Rights Reserved. Please do not use without permission. This post was not sponsored, some photos are my own and were featured on my Instagram @thebookishbree. Please follow me on Goodreads (jasperandspice). 

Advertisements

Release by Patrick Ness | Spoilery Review

Hey Ho Bookaholics!

For the first day of the BookTubeAthon I read Release by Patrick Ness, a book that I’d been dying to pick up ever since its release earlier this year.

Release by Patrick Ness Book Cover .jpgGoodreads Summary:

Inspired by Mrs Dalloway and Judy Blume’s Forever, Release is one day in the life of Adam Thorn, 17. It’s a big day. Things go wrong. It’s intense, and all the while, weirdness approaches…

Adam Thorn is having what will turn out to be the most unsettling, difficult day of his life, with relationships fracturing, a harrowing incident at work, and a showdown between this gay teen and his preacher father that changes everything. It’s a day of confrontation, running, sex, love, heartbreak, and maybe, just maybe, hope. He won’t come out of it unchanged. And all the while, lurking at the edges of the story, something extraordinary and unsettling is on a collision course.

Continue reading “Release by Patrick Ness | Spoilery Review”

To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin | Spoiler-Free Review

I was sent this book from Allen & Unwin in exchange for an honest review. It was published it on the 23rd of November 2016.

Hey Ho Bookaholics!

To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin.jpg

Goodreads Summary:

Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young Scottish widow and a French engineer who, despite constraints of class and wealth, fall in love.

In February 1887, Caitriona Wallace and Émile Nouguier meet in a hot air balloon, floating high above Paris, France–a moment of pure possibility. But back on firm ground, their vastly different social strata become clear. Cait is a widow who because of her precarious financial situation is forced to chaperone two wealthy Scottish charges. Émile is expected to take on the bourgeois stability of his family’s business and choose a suitable wife. As the Eiffel Tower rises, a marvel of steel and air and light, the subject of extreme controversy and a symbol of the future, Cait and Émile must decide what their love is worth.

Seamlessly weaving historical detail and vivid invention, Beatrice Colin evokes the revolutionary time in which Cait and Émile live–one of corsets and secret trysts, duels and Bohemian independence, strict tradition and Impressionist experimentation. To Capture What We Cannot Keep, stylish, provocative, and shimmering, raises probing questions about a woman’s place in that world, the overarching reach of class distinctions, and the sacrifices love requires of us all.

Continue reading “To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin | Spoiler-Free Review”

The Hammer of Thor By Rick Riordan | Review

Hey Ho Bookaholics!

It’s Monday again, and it’s been 30 dgrees celcius for three days now and I haven’t been able to use the pool at all! But not to fear, I’ve been working on this review all day and I have finally finally finished it.

I hope you enjoy reading my review that was such a pain to write because I could not seem to gether all my thoughts together to sum up this wonderful masterpiece of a book.

hammer-of-thor-book-coverGoodreads Summary:

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high.

Continue reading “The Hammer of Thor By Rick Riordan | Review”

Under a Million Stars by Rita Branches | ARC Review

Welcome Back Bookaholics!

I hope everyone has been well and had a wonderful Monday! Today I bring to you another book review, and my first ARC Review on my blog! This is super exciting for me.

I received the Advanced Readers Copy version of this book in eBook format from the lovely team at YA Bound Book Tours, and I managed to finish the book within 9 days, despite having to read it on my iPhone.

 

Disclaimer: I was sent an Advanced Readers Copy of this book in eBook format by YA Bound Book tours in exchange for an honest review. It was released on the 8th of August 2016.

30049032

Goodreads Summary;

Can a beating heart bleed from the shattered pieces?

Her heart cracked when her best friend walked away; it completely shattered when she lost her family in a tragic accident.

Now orphaned at seventeen, Charlotte Peterson is forced to live with her former best friend, Jacob Parker. Charlie, a talented pianist, desperately wants their loving friendship back, but something is holding Jake back. The more she spirals into the darkness of depression, the more she needs him.

Jacob vowed to stay away from her—no matter how much he still loved her. Armed with secrets that would have destroyed both of their families, he chose to end their friendship and walk away, which nearly killed him. As he watches the girl he once knew begin to fade away, however, he realizes that their relationship is more important than the truth he’s hiding.

Now it’s up to Jacob to put the pieces of Charlie’s broken heart back together—even if it means revealing the secrets he so desperately wants to protect her from.
Will Jacob find a way to bring back the carefree, talented girl he once knew, or is it too late for both of them?

*It’s a Stand-alone*

Continue reading “Under a Million Stars by Rita Branches | ARC Review”

The Lost Knight by Candy Atkins | Review

Disclaimer: I was sent this book in eBook format by YA Bound Book tours in exchange for an honest review. It was released on the 20th of May 2016, by Monster Publishing and is the first in a series.

30264201

Goodreads Summary:

How am I supposed to save the world when I’m not strong, not brave, not smart, and not particularly good at most things? I ran away from home the day after my thirteenth birthday when Auntie and her weird friend attacked me. Now I’m on the run with the Grim Reaper and a scary soldier. And I’m no longer on Earth. They were expecting me to be a Knight. The savior that’s supposed to stop a war and prevent the invasion to Earth. But I’m not. They grabbed the wrong girl. I just don’t know how to tell them.

The Lost Knight Volume 1 by Candy Atkins, is great for fans of Harry Potter and Magnus Chase (I also believe Percy Jackson fans will enjoy this book).

Praise For The Lost Knight.

I read an ebook copy of this book and absolutely loved it and everything about it. I was able to relate to Agatha, despite me being almost 5 years older than her, as she was.

The length of the chapters were so perfect! They were long enough to be considered chapters but short enough to make me feel like I was breezing through the book.

I had so much fun reading this book, that I gave it a ★★★★☆ (4/5 stars) on Goodreads, and I would totally recommend it to anyone who wants a fun, dramaless, fantasy novel, where you can discover new and amazing world.

Continue reading “The Lost Knight by Candy Atkins | Review”